Posted by: lisetta | July 8, 2007

Gobino Crema Gianduja

Gobino crema spalmabile al gianduja

Giuseppe and Guido Gobbino, I love you. Your dark chocolate gianduiottini Turinot delivered me from chocolate boredom years ago. When I visited Torino last month, I feared the summertime heat would melt your prized artwork, so I filled my suitcase with other Eatalian treats. Responding to my distress, Carla graciously offered me a jar of your crema spalmabile al gianduja, a heavenly chocolate hazelnut spread. I opened it tonight and wanted to share it with the world.

Unrelated to its redneck cousin, Nutella, Gobino crafts his crema with only the finest Piemontese hazelnuts and cocoa blends from Arriba, Java, Trinidad, Ghana and Venezuela, rejecting all vegetable fats, additives and related evils of industrialized production. His lab chooses and toasts only “Tonda Gentile delle Langhe” quality hazelnuts with “Protected Geographical Indication”(I.G.P), produced in the current year selected and toasted in his lab.

See the English version of his website to learn more at Guido Gobbino’s website.

Watch a wacky video tour of his studio — no need to understand the Italian.

Do Gobino’s designer ingredients smack of pretension? Take a bite and decide for yourself. Art is only pretentious to those excluded from its powerfully sensual effects.

Leave a Reply

Categories

