Posted by: lisetta | September 13, 2007

Addendum on the milanese

Did you see yesterday’s picture with 4 slices of chicken (from one supersized breast)? Tonight I learned that one should not microwave the leftover petti. With the soggy breading, it hardly merits the calories. The remaining petto sits on the second shelf of my fridge, in a ziploc bag. Should I even bother to warm it up tomorrow? or should I simply toss it to the dog run and call it a lesson learned?

Here’s a random food quote from Anthony Bourdain (not Italian) in Kitchen Confidential (not about Italian cooking):

Vegetarians and their Hezbollah like splinter faction, the vegans, are a persistant irritant to any chef worth a damn.

I worked a brief stint as kitchen help in a macrobiotic vegan cafe. While I was cutting burdock roots on the bi, trying my best not to destroy their “energy fields”, I remember pleading with the chef to just use a pat of butter or some shaved parmigiano on his pasta. LOL. I didn’t last long there. The vegan I dated casually gave in to my pleas when we cooked at my place. He was a chef worth a damn …

Leave a Reply

Categories

