Posted by: lisetta | January 6, 2008

Braised veal in red wine, tomato and herbs

My apartment smells like home today, reminiscent of dinner parties past. Enjoying my solitude, though, I remembered an Einstein quote from my days at Carnegie Mellon.

“Solitude is painful when one is young, but delightful when one is more mature.” 

Funny what springs from the mind in silence. Could this mean that I’ve reached a maturity of sorts? 🙂

Cooking meat dishes is not my forte, but I had some fun with this one. Started out with a veal round bone chop, floured and browned in olive oil/butter. Removed it from the pan and made a soffritto of onion, carrot and celery. Worried that I was starting out with a classic French mirepoix, I added a halved garlic clove and chopped fresh rosemary. That did the trick! The scent of rosemary takes me to Carla’s kitchen. (Ho scoperto il rosmarino in Italia.)

To the soffritto I returned the veal chop, added tomatoes, thyme, bay leaves, salt, broth and half a bottle of chianti. After letting it boil for some time (10-20 minutes?), I turned down the heat and let it simmer for a little more than an hour and let it rest for another 2 while I went to Spin with a friend. On my return, I cooked it another hour or so, and decided it would best be eaten tomorrow, with some crusty bread or polenta, neither of which I felt like making.

Here’s a taste of how it turned out:
veal

Leave a Reply

Categories

