Posted by: lisetta | January 20, 2008

Chocolate gelato

How could anything that contains heavy cream and 70% Scharffen Berger chocolate go wrong? 

chocolate gelato

Most gelato recipes call for whole milk with some heavy cream, but the one I made today used only heavy cream. Adjectives like “rich” and “creamy” would be understatements.  I think the next time I do one, I’ll go for a lighter version (she writes, still buzzing from the high). Here’s the process I used: 

Rich chocolate gelato
Beat 4 egg yolks and 1/4 cup sugar until pale and fluffy.
Chop and melt 7 oz. high quality dark chocolate in a saucepan.
Add 1/4 cup sugar and stir constantly.
Slowly add 2 1/2 cups of heavy cream to the melted chocolate, whisking constantly.
When all’s heated, slowly add it to the custard base, again whisking constantly.
Cook over a low flame for about 10 minutes; don’t let it come to a boil.
Pour the custard in a bowl and let it cool in the fridge.
Go to take a 90 minute master spin class to pre-burn all the calories you’ll take in when you have a bowl. 🙂 

I chilled the gelato in a Donvier ice cream maker that my mom got me many years ago. With its frozen aluminum bowl, turning the custard to gelato takes only about 10 minutes of occasional cranking. It’s a snap. The only trick here is making just enough for your guests and serving it immediately. The best gelato is semifreddo, not completely frozen like ice cream, so be careful not to let it sit too long.

When I hosted dinner parties in Pittsburgh, I frequently served gelato for dessert, mostly because it was the simplest thing to make. It occurs to me that this evening’s batch was the first one I’ve made in 6.5 years! Crazy how life moves by so quickly.

Responses

  1. Fortunately, I live across the hall and get the envious invite to share this gelato.
    Melts on the vibrating taste buds, so sensual, so
    in keeping with flavor. A great treat.

  2. […] unappetizing? (Pun intended. Read again, Missy, out loud.) While nowhere near as rich as the chocolate gelato I made in January, this lighter version of gelato is perfect for summertime, and for sharing with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

