Posted by: lisetta | April 16, 2008

Fusilli bucati corti with zucchini and tomatoes

I’m running low on supplies here, but found a zucchini in my fridge, lots of parsley and some Campari tomatoes on my counter. I decided to combine them into a sauce for fusilli bucati corti, one of my favorite pasta shapes hands down. Its texture makes it fun to eat, IMHO. 

Taken from www.pastagarofalo.it  

 

Here’s what I did:

Saute an onion in some olive oil until soft.

Halve a zucchini lengthwise, slice it into half moons, add it to the onion and cook about 5 minutes. 

Add chopped fresh tomatoes, lots of chopped parsley and a splash of white wine. Cook another 10 minutes or so until it looks like a sauce. 

Add the cooked fusilli bucati corti to the pan and saute until coated. 

The lesson learned tonight: don’t get distracted while cooking. For the first time in a very long time, I undersalted and overcooked the pasta: a lethal combination of errors. A few bites in, I honestly considered tossing the dish, but realized I had nothing else to eat! How lucky I am that I actually have that option. Still have three fourths of the box left, so I’ll have a second chance soon. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

