Posted by: lisetta | June 19, 2008

Nocciolini di Chivasso

Made simply with IGP hazelnuts (31%), sugar and egg whites, these tasty little morsels were well worth their high price tag at Eataly. Carla suggested that I buy them as a gift, but again I find myself “home” in Philly, munching on the little “brutti e buoni”, as she called them. They are packed full with flavor!

Some savvy googling reveals that these little nibs have been around since the turn of the last century! Called “Noasetti”” in Piemontese dialect (close to the French “noisette”), these prized treats even won acclaim at the World Fair in Paris in 1900, which attracted over 50 million visitors. (Anyone out there know where the official Expo 2000 was held? I’ll give you some cookies if you can tell me. Until just a few moments ago, I had no idea the world even had one.)  

While reading about the Paris 1900, I learned that it brought us the escalator and the opening of the Gare d’Orsay, now a museum, where I was just a few weeks ago (and for the first time 20 years ago!). Here’s a photo of the place that everyone has to take.  

And so this rambling post twists an Italian food topic into something French. Good thing Gian Luca doesn’t read this blog! Why some of my Italian friends get so huffy when you mention something you like about France, I’ll never get. But then again, why people would choose a Bordeaux over a Barolo I’ll never get either. 

Anyway, if you too have a curiosity to learn more about the history of the World Fairs, click here. To see some great photographs from Paris 1900, check out Paris-in-Photos. Salut!

Leave a Reply

Categories

