Posted by: lisetta | July 21, 2008

Zucchini bread?

I don’t like to follow recipes. No, I don’t know why. I do know, however, that this is why I almost always fail at baking (unless it’s with Mark Bittman recipes, which often allow for all sorts of additions/substitutions).

Most of my blog entries tout my success stories, but I figure I can share a failure every so often. Here’s where I went wrong in my attempt to make zucchini bread last night:

  • I substituted applesauce for vegetable oil. Why? My pantry has only olive, hazelnut and sesame oils. 
  • I cut the sugar in half. Why? I don’t like overly sweet desserts.
  • I forgot to add chopped nuts. Why? I was chatting with Chris about the amazing saffron gelato I made. 
  • I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, just like the recipe stated. Why? Who the hell knows? I suspected that it would be too much, and I was totally right. The nutmeg overpowered the cinnamon. Drat. 

Was the zucchini bread edible? Yes. I took a loaf to work today and everyone seemed to enjoy it except me. Each compliment it received elicited my critical comments on how it could have turned out better. Sigh. 

Nothing is automatic about baking. There’s no flow; only prescribed process. It’s not for me. (Kind of like core training. Help!)

Responses

  1. I still am wrapping my mind about applesauce as substitute for oil.

    Found this link
    http://www.ochef.com/225.htm

  2. Very interesting! Ray brought over another mammoth zucchini, and I found a recipe using crushed pineapply instead of applesauce, so perhaps I’ll synthesize it all into another experiment this weekend. Still have my blueberries too…

  3. […] a futile attempt to incorporate whole grains while reducing reduce fat & sugar last year, I played around with various recipes, but in the end, enjoyed nothing I made. This year I’ve […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

