Posted by: lisetta | July 24, 2008

Aromatherapy

Checked in on the garden post-Spin tonight, thinking I could clip some herbs for dinner, and gathered parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. Honestly – picked them in a different order though. LOL. Raising the bouquet and inhaling its scent granted pure happiness. First time in a long time I’ve felt at home, grounded. 

Started walking just as Ray asked if he should pinch the flowers from the basil. Almost forgot the basil! The plants grow to flower so quickly; I picked many sprigs. On my way back in, I gave some to Tom, who was out in the yard grilling, Darwin, sitting at the front desk, Jennifer, who was walking by with TJ bags of CSA produce for her friend, and some random woman with a dog getting on the elevator. Everyone could smell the basil as I walked by with my bouquet! How could I not share? 🙂

Came upstairs and cooked … a lot. I needed the creative release today. Woke up this morning to make a shrimp salad and rice. Cooked coq au vin with herbs for tomorrow. Finished the fusilli bucati corti with herbed zucchini (parsley and basil) for dinner, and made blueberry gelato. (Didn’t have enough lemon juice for sorbet. Drat.)

Blueberry gelato

3 cups blueberries

3/4 cup sugar — note: I think this was too much!

Pinch of salt

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1 cup light cream

1 cup of 2 % cold milk

Cook the blueberries with the sugar until they’re soft. Hand blend them in a puree, add salt and lemon and chill until cold. Add milk and cream, then crank in the Donvier

Call it a good day, and reminisce about the last time I felt so happy living a song.

Leave a Reply

Categories

