Posted by: lisetta | July 28, 2008

Who Moved My Cheese?

Shortly after writing yesterday’s post, I got a call from a girlfriend seeking companionship on a trip out to Costco. Hot diggity dog!  My chance to buy some mozzarella di bufala. I jumped. 

Only problem was that they had none. Drat! I learned instead that part of the “fun” of going to Costco is supposedly finding what’s new. What I found instead was BelGioioso’s burrata, an industrial production which feels and tastes like a ricotta-stuffed mozzarella ball. SO incredibly disappointing. Nothing like the handmade version I ate at Osteria Marco in Denver last March. I’ve tried three cheeses this week, and none satisfy. I want what’s unavailable, yet again. Pazienza! 

So with no cheese for my fresh bread, what did I do? Make bread pudding. It’s made with an Italian-American bread: Carlino’s “cushino”, an obscenely large loaf sold to me on the promise that it’s like a ciabatta (it’s not). Almost managed to follow Mark Bittman’s recipe from How to Cook Everything, but added bananas, golden raisins and extra milk to the mix. Here’s what I did:

Cushino Bread Pudding

Heat 3 1/2 cups of milk, half a stick of butter, 3 tsp of cinnamon and a pinch of salt in a saucepan until the butter is melted.

Fill an 8×8 buttered glass baking dish with broken bread pieces, some raisins and a super ripe ziplocked banana left in your messenger bag, and pour the warm milk mixture over it. 😉 

Slightly beat 3 eggs and add it to the mixture.

Bake in a bain marie at 350 for 45 minutes or so, until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. 

Wonder why on earth you’ve never made a bread pudding before, and vow never to order it again at Jones. (You can, however order it from Chloe, the city’s least pretentious and most delicious BYOB.) Promptly give most of your creation to your neighbor, whose family is visiting, and call it a good day after all. 

The funny thing about sharing is that once you start, you don’t want to stop. I surprised Amy with a mega bag of M&Ms today and got a heartfelt hug. Hadn’t realized how much I needed one.

Responses

  1. When you are blest to live across the hall, you get to enjoy many treats.

    The bread pudding was spectacular. Light, moist
    melted in the mouth A treat for 3 generations!!

  2. […] summer when I shared my  saffron gelato with friends, Chris shared that he really liked making bread pudding, and I attempted making it a week or two later. A few months after that, I encountered a panettone […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

