Posted by: lisetta | August 2, 2008

Tropical Profiteroles

Though I recently ate classic profiteroles at Parc, I first ate them in Italy, so have license to connect them to the spirit of the blog, right?  Otherwise I’d be hard pressed to argue that making a pate a choux has anything to do with Italian techniques. 

This is the easiest dough you will ever make. I was dumbfounded by how simple it was, and how beautiful the results. You can google ‘cream puff’ recipes, use Bittman’s recipe or remember the ratios (below). 

Pate a choux

Bring to a boil equal parts butter and water in a saucepan with a pinch of salt. 

Add twice as much flour as the butter you used (e.g. 1/2 cup of butter = 1 cup of flour) to the boiling liquid and stir furiously until it forms a ball. 

Remove the ball from the heat and add eggs, one at a time, continuing to beat. If you make a recipe with one cup of flour, use 4 eggs. If you make a batch with 1/2 cup flour, use 2. I wouldn’t go much smaller batch than that, as you need the eggs to help create the airy pockets. 

Spoon out balls of dough, arrange on a cookie sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes at 400 degrees, until golden. 

Prick them with a toothpick when you take them out of the oven, to let the steam escape.

Marvel at their beauty, and call your neighbors over to witness:

While thinking I could Italianize the profiteroles with some zabaglione gelato, I’ve since learned that our menu tonight is light and tropical, so they’ll be filled with coconut gelato instead. Hope to remember to snap a pic at the finished product. (I did, and here it is, sans the chocolate sauce that we burned in the microwave.)

I wanted to believe that this dish would wrap up my recent focus on desserts, but Ann brought over a bowl of Jersey peaches this morning so I think I should try to make a sorbetto. Have a mango in my fridge; maybe I can add it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

