Posted by: lisetta | August 11, 2008

Pasta surprise

Was treated to lunch at Penne today and had a very interesting dish: linguine with roasted tomato, spinach and saffron-fennel cream, served with two seared scallops. Surprisingly delicious! They haven’t overcooked or oversauced their homemade pasta on any of my visits. I’ll take Penne over Pod any day, especially on a vendor’s tab.  🙂

While browsing Penne’s website tonight, I found a cooking class next Thursday that looks quite interesting. If I can get a sub for my Spin class, I think I’ll take it. Any blog readers game to go with? On the menu: 

Scallop Ceviche with Tomato Granita and Avocado

 

Shrimp and Polenta Ravioli

Crab and Basil Stuffed Zebra Tomato with Tomato Butter

 

Grilled Spiced Flank Steak with Lobster and Tomato Panzanella

 

Chocolate Dipped Pistachio Pizzelle with Pistachio Gelato and Amarena Cherries

Have eaten scallops two days in a row now.  Last night Ann brought over a most delicious version of her own invention: seared scallops with sauteed peaches, butter and pesto. Amazing! I have no idea how she actually did it, but the recipe is restaurant worthy for sure. Maybe she’ll post her secret in the comments?

On another note, Marni called tonight to tell me that Trader Joe’s gnocchi are really delicious. I dismissed her comments as crazy, but am quite curious to try them now. While I have all the time in the world to create ridiculously simple homemade gnocchi, her life is quite different with three young children. Can vacuum-packed industrial gnocchi hold any appeal? I might be surprised. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

