Posted by: lisetta | September 15, 2008

Insalata di bietole, carote e finocchio

Ate perciatelli with burro e parmigiano tonight, too hungry to slice zucchini, cook some tomato or put any effort into a sauce. Found some cooked beets in my fridge, cubed them and shaved some carrots and fennel into it, dressing with aceto balsamico and evoo.  A perfect impromptu dinner.

Aren’t the carrots beautifully sliced? My knifing skills could never create this, so I turned to my Italian acciaio inox truffle slicer. While it’s never actually sliced truffles, it has often shaved fennel, carrots, potatoes and zucchini. Made with stainless steel and a super sharp adjustable blade, this kitchen tool sure does come in handy … especially when I have no kitchen helpers doing my bidding.

Using this tool, though, makes me want to go out and buy a French mandoline (scandalous traitor that I am). Have a look at the Williams Sonoma demo video of the de Buyer Red Mandoline and let me know if you too feel you need it. Just think of all the pleasure it’d bring for only $100. That’s a heck of a lot less than a $13,700 bed!

Leave a Reply

Categories

