Posted by: lisetta | October 21, 2008

Singing pizzelles

Rode home tonight thinking I’d make a vegetable lasagna, but arrived to find a beautiful big box from Amazon: my Villaware pizzelle maker had arrived! And to think that I had a hard time identifying in my leadership seminar what really ‘engaged’ me outside of work. 

Using both the recipe that came with the iron (below) and a variation (click here) on the ‘recipe’ that Angela gave me earlier in the summer, I set out to make two batches: anise and almond. The big difference between the recipes is that one used butter and the other vegetable oil. No surprise which pizzelle are more pleasing! Here’s the recipe I think worked better. 

Villaware’s Recipe for Traditional Italian Pizzelles

3 eggs, room temp

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. anise

1 3/4 cups flour

2 tsp. baking powder

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs and sugar. Add the cooled butter or margarine, vanilla and anise. Sift the flour and baking powder together and add to the egg mixture. The batter should be stiff enough to be dropped by spoon. The batter can also be refrigerated to be used later.

Lots of questions arose while making these. Why and how did the pizzelles “sing” during several presses? I guess it has something to do with the release of steam, like a tea kettle, but I’d have liked to turn to a resident kitchen scientist and gotten a thorough answer. Another question is this: where exactly do I place the spoonful of batter so that I end up with a complete pattern? (And why on earth would I even care?) While I ended up pressed most cookies for about one minute, I frequently lost track of the time. Short of staring at the second hand, what’s a gal to do? I’d have liked to have a scientific partner to help me with timing. 

Speaking of science, I realized I need MUCH more experimentation with the pizzelles. As elusive as it may be, does there exist a perfect pizzelle recipe? I couldn’t help but wonder whether people have made savory pizzelles … I was thinking to make some with olive oil and thyme, for example, or simply sprinkled with lavender. Should I manage to keep butter and eggs in my refrigerator, I imagine I’ll have some interesting results as I move forward with my explorations. I welcome any ideas!

Responses

  1. hi i have made pizzelles with my parents since i was a kid…i have my
    grandmothers old p iron.. we usually made them with anisette oil. but played with cinnamon oil and lemon oil..dont you love the way your home smells after making them…enjoy ciao
    Carole Valmassoi

  2. I DO totally love the way my apartment smells after making pizzelles! While I’ve tried almond and vanilla varieties, I really do like the anise flavor the best.

  3. […] made pizzelle tonight with a very special kitchen guest whose hands and handiwork appear […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

