Posted by: lisetta | December 15, 2008

Cucina piccola

Lately I’ve been suffering from kitchen wanderlust, wishing for a bigger and better space and a gas stove. Though this feeling has come and gone since I left my big open kitchen in Pittsburgh, it’s been fairly strong lately, mostly because the men I’ve recently dated all have fabulous kitchens! Little do they know how deeply their kitchens are tempting me to level jump right out of casual dating and into intimate weeknight collaborations. Want pasta tonight, dear, or risotto? LOL. 

Was thrilled to see Mark Bittman’s recent article in the NYT, written to folks like me who adapt to small kitchens in city apartments yet manage to “make it work”. He writes:

… when it comes to kitchens, size and equipment don’t count nearly as much as devotion, passion, common sense and, of course, experience. To pretend otherwise — to spend tens of thousands of dollars or more on a kitchen before learning how to cook, as is sadly common — is to fall into the same kind of silly consumerism that leads people to believe that an expensive gym membership will get them into shape or the right bed will improve their sex life. As runners run and writers write, cooks cook, under pretty much any circumstance.

Early on in the article, he says he’s here to make me feel better, and that he did… at least temporarily. I’m still in the market for some new bedroom furniture … and weeknight culinary collaborations. 🙂

Responses

  1. We are doing a trip to my friends new ouse with a marvelous kitchen to swoon for. The latest and the best and all in reach of the cook.

  2. From the article:

    I complain, but I make do. And it’s here where I develop and test most of the recipes for my cookbooks and articles. So imagine my surprise when I posted a picture of my kitchen on my blog a few weeks ago and received a flood of e-mail messages from readers who wondered how someone could write large and evidently useful cookbooks, even a weekly column for The Times, while suffering such deprivation. (In the middle of all this, a young journalist called and asked what, after all, I considered essential in a modern kitchen? “A stove, a sink, a refrigerator, some pots and pans, a knife and some serving spoons,” I answered.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/14/weekinreview/14bittman.html?_r=2&ref=weekinreview

  3. So you’re saying you can relate? The two kitchens I’ve seen you in looked pretty good. Where are you now in ‘da ‘Burgh? Will the springtime bring an Iron Chef event I can travel home for?

  4. The kitchen in which I really learned a lot about cooking in was in my tiny studio apartment in the Rue du Sabot in Paris. I had 2 electric burners and a sink. Somehow I made due. For example, I would put one burner on low and one on high if I had to quickly change the heat setting during preparation, and then switch burners. Of course, I was just learning, so simpler dishes appealed to me at the time, and I was only 23. And something about living in the heart of Paris kinda made up for the lack of kitchen.

    Having said all that, nowadays I prefer larger, well equipped kitchens. Just like my men. : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

