Posted by: lisetta | January 19, 2009

Homemade pizze

The biga turned into dough that held some simple pizza toppings. 

pizze

The red one included tomato, capers, anchovies and sliced garlic – which I removed, thank you. Believe me; its flavor lingered. The bites with anchovy were really good but the pizza I truly loved included rosemary, potatoes, sweet onion and mozzarella. It’s the perfect pizza! Right here in Phillly. I’ll be damned. 

Next week a bunch of Italians are having a pizzata — a pizza party where four ‘contestants’ make three types of homemade pizzas, and the rest of us get to ‘judge’. It’s kind of like an Iron chef event. Though I am, of course, thrilled to be one of the judges, I know full well that my vote as the sole American palate will count far less. 🙂

Sorry for so few posts lately. I’ve got a huge project hitting some deadlines at work and no energy for anything else. This week will be the same, I imagine. Pazienza!

Responses

  1. I love the pizzata idea. Let us know how it turns out.
    Linda

  2. I just happen to be making pizza today! I sprinkle chopped garlic, (you can skip that part!) and put anchovies and good sardines, with their oil, over my homemade crust. Yummo! A little sprinkle of crushed red pepper too. anchovies are great when baked..very sweet. I think I’d win. lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

