Posted by: lisetta | February 2, 2009

Rigatoni con ragu

More freezer meals for me these days! Leftover from the Christmas lasagna, I brought out the ragu and ate it with rigatoni. Che buono.

Each time Luca scooped out a few spoonfuls of his renowned duck or boar ragu, he pointed out its thick consistency, repeating, “Americans don’t make ragu like the Italians.” As if I needed him to explain that to me. 

I learned to make ragu from Giuseppe (from Terracina, a seaside town in the South between Napoli e Roma) and then Gian Luca (from Rimini, a seaside town in the north, near Bologna, home of the ‘bolognese’, or ‘ragu’.) Seems everyone’s got their favorite twist on how to make “the best”, so my only criteria is that I do it differently ever time.

Ragu is a meat sauce, seasoned with ‘aromatici’ (carrots, celery and onion) and herbs. It cooks with tomatoes and wine for an insanely long time – 2 or 3 hours according to Marcella Hazan, and can contain any types of meat you have on hand. I can no longer recall what exactly went into the one I made last month, but it likely contained ground veal, pork and lamb, chianti and rosemary (as evidenced by the greenish spot in the bottom of the photo). 

rigatoni

Leave a Reply

Categories

