Posted by: lisetta | February 8, 2009

Gnocchi di patate

With ragu and arugula, both wilted and fresh. A hearty welcome back to the world of food after a miserable couple of days with a nasty condition inappropriate for discussion on a food blog!

Making potato gnocchi can be tricky, and the batch I turned out today revealed, more than anything, that I am out of practice. I haven’t made gnocchi since moving to Philly in 2001! Where has the time gone? 

gnocchi

While I wanted to follow Biba Caggiano’s recipe, my memory refused to accept that the gnocchi dough was anything more than potato, salt and flour, and I had no desire to flip open the laptop, so I simply left out the egg yolk and did what I thought would work: 

2 pounds of baked potatoes, passed through a food mill

scant 1 tablespoon of salt

1 and 1/2 cups of ubleached white flour

All mixed together by hand, and kneaded just until I could form a log. I wrapped it in nonstick foil, and went about the rest of my day. The dough was too wet for the fork shaping, but I figured that the low ratio of flour to potato would ensure a lighter dumpling. While they were light, they were still a bit too gummy for my taste. Must’ve been the all-purpose potatoes. I should have chosen Russets.

While I’d like to imagine myself doing a bit of research and figuring out how to make better gnocchi, I’m tempted instead turn my attention to other types…perhaps with ricotta or semolina? Stay tuned.

Responses

  1. Semolina gnocchi are so much less fussy and easier to make. Potato gnocchi, which I seldom make, can be so darn difficult to get right. Brava to you for trying though. Lidia Bastianich has a good recipe and helpful hints in one of her cookbooks for potato gnocchi.

  2. I totally agree. “Gnocchi alla romana” are one of my favorites. 🙂 At a Philly restaurant called L’Oca, the chef does a number on them by adding some speck, verdura and ricotta. Served with parmigiano and sage butter, they’re pretty heavy, but still interesting. I think I much prefer simple and light tho. Thanks for the tip on Lidia’s recipe. I’ll check it out! I know so little of Lidia’s work, but always hear her mentioned, (of course). I did eat once at one of her chain places in Pittsburgh (molto disappointing), and got to thinking about how hard it must be for a chef to put her name on a place that can so easily dilute her “brand”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

