Posted by: lisetta | March 23, 2009

Farfalle fantasie

Butterfly fantasies¹: Italian words served up in an English grammatical structure. Kind of the way I’ve been living my life lately. Would rather be feeling springtime butterflies than eating them, but here goes:

Ann gifted me with a box of campari tomatoes last week!  After eating them simply with a drizzle of olive oil for a few days, I decided to cook a few down into a quick red sauce. Added some capers and olives to the dish and thought I’d better get planting if I want to try tomatoes from seed this year in my garden. Che buoni che sono i pomodorini freschi². 

farfalle1

 

Tonight I played a similar theme with sunnier colors: started the sauce with roasted yellow peppers sauteed in garlic-infused olive oil and fresh thyme. Added a spoonful of olive tapenade for a bit of saltiness, snapped a pic and found myself pretty much where I was last week at this time. Pazienza! Both dinners were delicious. 

farfalle2

 

¹For my sister: farfalle is the Italian word for butterflies, translated into English as “bow tie” pasta.

²OMG, fresh tomatoes are so good when they’re good. (Again, don’t look this way if you ever want a literal translation.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

