Posted by: lisetta | April 1, 2009

Experimental pasta

I don’t recall how, exactly, the idea came about, but Ben recently suggested we cook pasta IN wine instead of water. With lots of gift bottles sitting in his cabinet, we’d be putting them to good use, so why not? 

This is not an April Fool’s Day post! I was curious. Am perhaps more so now that I’ve tried cooking pasta in wine. Here’s how it went:

 

 

 

P²G Sauce

Slice chicken breasts into thinner cutlets, and layer in a dish with sliced lemons, cilantro sprigs, sliced garlic, and salt. Cover the chicken with white wine and marinate overnight.

Caramelize a sliced sweet onion (I began the braise with a bit of wine).

Add some olive oil, sliced chicken, roasted red peppers and snow peas to the pan and saute 5-10 minutes or so.

Add the cooked pasta to the pan to coat, then serve. 

Marvel at how delicious it was, sigh with relief and immediately start imagining variations on the theme. Though the texture of the penne was compromised (a bit gummy), its ‘lemony’ flavor was pleasant. Wonder what kind of other sauces might work well with it?

winepasta

I think the experiment went well. So well that I wondered if people have been doing this for some time. They have.  Check out this Mark Bittman piece written 10 years ago on the technique. He suggests cooking the spaghetti for about 5 minutes in water before transferring it to a pot of boiling wine, and dressing it in an aglio olio with pepperoncino. Interesting idea ….

Responses

  1. Pasta in wine? I’d be sad not to be drinking the bottle. Stop by my blog. I’ve got something for you.

  2. I heard of the idea in a fiction book I was reading. One of the characters made pasta this way.

    I’m thinking that maybe doing half water, half wine might have made it a little less gummy.

    Rachel and I loved the flavor of everything and had a great night with you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

