Posted by: lisetta | May 21, 2009

And so it was written…

…on July 18, 2007: a love letter spelling out my dreams of Capogiro gelato one day coming left of center. That day has arrived. Tonight Carlo and I attended the opening party in its new location near 40th and Chestnut. And it’s way better than I had imagined: not only are they selling their signature gelato, they’ve also got a bar – stocked with Pio Cesare wines from Piemonte and more. They’ll do aperitivo – evening drinks with snacks. They’ll have sandwiches for the lunch crowd, tables inside and out, and an attention to quality and detail few stores rival. Finalmente! 

If I ever do decide to start dating again, I now know just where to suggest we meet. No matter how banal the conversation, or how traumatic the divorce story – and, believe me, all men my age have them – some pleasures will appear, hopefully in the form of rosemary goats’ milk or gianduja.

And so it shall be done …

Responses

  1. Thanks for the tip. I’ve never heard of Capogiro. I was just in Phila. last week for the Cezanne exhibit. Wish I’d known. BUt I’ll be back.

  2. Did you eat in Philly too? If so, I’m curious to learn where you chose to go. Capogiro’s got three locations near Walnut St: one around 20th, one around 13th and now, one near 40th. Let me know next time you’re in town! I’d be happy to meet you there. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

