Posted by: lisetta | August 17, 2009

Marmellata di pesca

While strolling the center aisles a week or so ago with my friend Ben, I noticed Mason jars on sale and bought a case on impulse, thinking I’d make some jam this year. Doing it in my super small apartment kitchen, however, held no appeal whatsoever once I managed to procure the peaches (and let them ripen) and find an evening free of commitments. Reacquainting myself with the process, I realized I had neither the stock pot nor the jar rack needed for boiling freshly filled jars. Drat.

I did, however, have 8 ripe peaches and a box of pectin, so I made freezer jam. So easy! You chop the peaches (3 cups), and toss them in a bowl with two tablespoons of lemon juice and 4 cups of sugar (insane!), and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, you dissolve the box of pectin in 3/4 cup of water, bring to a boil, boil a minute, then stir into the fruit until all the sugar is dissolved. Fill up a few freezer containers with lids, let them set for about a day on the counter, and then put them in the freezer.

I’ve been eating Bonne Maman for my entire Philadelphia life (8 years this past weekend). Had forgotten how much better homemade really is, but wish I had bought the low sugar pectin.  Wonder if I might do some blueberry jam this weekend?

Leave a Reply

Categories

