Posted by: lisetta | August 17, 2009

Zucchini bread.2

Why should I be eating a slice of just-baked, warm zucchini bread at 11:30 pm? Because I want to and it tastes good, that’s why.

In a futile attempt to incorporate whole grains while reducing reduce fat & sugar last year, I played around with various recipes, but in the end, enjoyed nothing I made. This year I’ve returned to the classic recipe, dictated by my sister Missy, who got the recipe from my mom. I’m going to write it up here so that I have it next year:

3 well beaten eggs

2 cups of sugar

1 tablespoon of vanilla

1 cup of oil (I used canola)

2 cups of shredded zucchini

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

3 cups of flour

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of freshly ground nutmeg

1 cup of nuts

You basically  mix these together in the order that they’re listed (with dry ingredients pre mixed of course), pour the batter into two greased and floured loaf pans and cook at 350 for one hour. Flip them out of the pans shortly after baking and cool them on a cookie rack.

Neighbors and security guards love zucchini bread. Share freely. Pretend that it’s an old Italian recipe passed down through generations.

Responses

  1. I’m not a huge fan of zucchini, but this may be the only use of it that I consistently like. I’ll have to try your recipe sometime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

