Posted by: lisetta | September 29, 2009

Pizza integrale

Last week at the restaurant, the guys gave me some fresh yeast so that I could experiment with breadmaking. In the moment I wrapped it in plastic, I truly believed I’d make a biga, then a bowl of dough. Alas, the yeast sits unopened on the top shelf of my fridge. I’m afraid the only experimenting I’ve done here is with a bag of Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough!

pizza After stretching the dough into a pizza pan, I covered it with shaved potato and sweet onion, then sprinkled chopped rosemary, thyme, parsley and salt, drizzled olive oil, and crumbled goat cheese on top. Though potatoes on pizza are a total carb bomb, it’s really a great combination, especially if they can get kind if crunchy.

The result? Mediocrity. Despite having cooked the pizza at a higher temperature for more than twice as long as the TJ bag instructed, the crust was still somewhat soft. Its flavor was weak, lacking both salt and whole grain goodness. Oh well. 

I had dessert at Capogiro – tiramisu and pignoli, both new flavors for me (and neither impressive) – then head over to the restaurant to help with some prep for the Appetite for Awareness event tomorrow night at the Wachovia. Check out what Fabrizio cooked up with some of the leftover polenta:

fabrizio

This was his ‘fantasia’; he insists that all cooks have it. Finger-sized sticks of polenta, with creamed spinach, ground beef and cheese. I didn’t expect to like it, but it was good. Bravo, Fabizio.

Leave a Reply

Categories

