Posted by: lisetta | October 11, 2009

Fall comforts

It was a beautiful fall day today in Philadelphia – sunny, with temps in the high sixties. I woke up wanting to bake, not bike. Seasons *have* changed.

My morning baking was simple: zucchini bread and banana-coconut-chocolate chip bread. I split them up and delivered all but a few slices of each to neighbors. I’m grateful to have landed in a building with so many wonderful people. When I moved in and signed a month-to-month lease, I never imagined I’d end up living here longer than I’ve lived anywhere since my childhood home.

After brunch with Luca at Carman’s Country Kitchen and some errands, I came home to chores and more kitchen fun.  Made D’jej de’al homes: chicken with chick peas. It’s Moroccan spices brought a surprising sense of comfort. Sharing here the recipe:

D’jej de’al homes

Spice mixture:

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon turmeric

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt

Cut up a chicken (or use packaged thighs), remove the skin and rub the spice mixture onto the meat. Let sit an hour or so.

Saute several chopped onions in butter and olive oil. Saute the chicken and the onions until brown.

Add a can of chick peas, two to three cups of chicken broth (or water) and copious amounts of cilantro.

Simmer for an hour or so until the chicken falls from the bone. Serve with cous cous or brown rice.

1783956I got this recipe from a cookbook I used to use often: The World’s Finest Foods: 180 Classic Recipes from Around the World. Past dinner parties have featured recipes from the pages on Morocco, Greece, Spain and Italy, but I’m not sure I’ve ever actually attempted any of the recipes from Thailand, Japan, China or Mexico. Mediterranean flavors attract me. Still. After all these years. Will travel to Italy in December.

Leave a Reply

Categories

