Posted by: lisetta | November 16, 2009

Trugole

It’s been a month and a half since I bought cheese! Scandalous!

I’m heading to Pittsburgh next week, and expecting a trip to Penn Mac, so the visit to the Wegman’s cheese counter was less exciting than usual. I saw the quadrello di bufala I liked so much, but went for a cheese I had never heard of: trugole. Here’s a description:

An Italian cheese originating from the mountainous region of Asiago where the altitude and lush meadows provide excellent pastures for the cows to develop their milk. Produced as a cow’s milk cheese, Trugole is formed into washed-rind wheels weighing from 1 to 6 pounds. The cheese is allowed to mature for 2 to 3 months developing a straw colored semi-firm paste that provides a mild fruity flavor. Trugole Cheese is an excellent cheese for snacking, for serving with crusted breads or for use in melting over various foods. (Text grabbed from here.)

The chunk I bought was produced by Agriform, the largest cheese producer in Veneto. Known mostly for grana padano (a semi-hard cheese similar to, yet younger than, parmigiano reggiano), Agriform (with its member dairies) has been producing, maturing and selling DOP (Denominazione d’Origine Protetta) cheeses since 1980.

I sliced it and ate it with rosemary bread. Its flavor is reminiscent of fontinella, a cheese my father used to call “stinky cheese”. Trugole isn’t stinky, or even very flavorful for that matter. While I’ve satisficed for now, I really can’t see any reason to buy this cheese again.

Responses

  1. I stumbled upon your blog while googling “Trugole” cheese – one of my new faves – I couldn’t find any at Eataly NYC yesterday (my first visit there) – but I see from my google attempt that it is sold at my local Wegmans (I was originally introduced to trugole during my latest visit to the Italian Mkt in Philly – Claudio’s). Was kinda surprised that Wegmans may have a better selection of Italian cheeses than Eataly. 😉 Anyway, I am a lover of all things Italian, Philly and food/cooking, so I am now a follower of your blog. LOVE it!! I’ve considered food blogging myself, but for now I use Facebook as my outlet. Looking forward to keeping up with your blog!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

