Posted by: lisetta | December 24, 2009

Cenone della vigilia

While Italian-Americans are feasting on seven fishes to celebrate Christmas Eve, here in Italy, we feasted with Carla’s and Mario’s family on one: salmone, in both its smoked and fresh forms. In this meal alone, I have at least seven blog entries I’d like to write! How do I choose when everything is so delicious?

I think I’ll take a simple strategy while I’m here over the next two weeks: write the menu and asterisk those foods I’ll write more about at some future time?

Our appetizers included a smoked salmon on toast, a homemade insalata russa*, and a pate di prosciutto. Il primo era un risotto ai piselli*, followed by salmon drizzled with a parsley and ginger oil, and artichokes, sliced thinly and sauteed in oil*. For dessert, Mario’s mom made gli struffoli* and another dessert whose name no one here really knows*. We drank nebbiolo*, and insolia*, a Sicilian white wine.

Not sure if this strategy will work throughout my stay, but it’s better than nothing. 🙂 I had been planning on photoblogging only, but left my apartment without my camera card USB. Pazienza! I had to leave my apartment 3 hours earlier than expected (Amtrak cancellation) and forgot many little things. Note to self: packing should be finished the night before travel.

Leave a Reply

Categories

