Posted by: lisetta | January 12, 2010

Merluzzo ai finocchi e zafferano

I’m back in the States, settling in to my Philadelphia life. So far so good! Have lots to write about from my trip, but return to my blog with a recipe I made up this evening for friends: cod with fennel, onion, tomato and saffron. We began with a simple shrimp cocktail and a mixed greens salad wish shaved fennel and clementines, ate the fish, and ended with pears poached in wine (malbec) and star anise. OK, so maybe I overdid it with the fennel flavors. Who cares? Everything was delicious.

Merluzzo ai finocchi e zafferano

Slice thinly half a sweet onion and a fennel bulb, and saute them in olive oil until softened.

Add chopped tomatoes with a pinch of salt and some vegetable broth and simmer until cooked.

Add saffron to the sauce. I used about 130 gr. of powdered saffron.

Add to the pan a few pieces of fresh cod and cook until done (about 10 minutes).  The sauce will remain somewhat liquidy.

Responses

  1. […] with saffron brings pleasures I’ve written about time and again here in this blog: saffron scented fish, Combal Zero’s perfect saffron risotto, my own take on saffron gelato. Who knew there was as […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

