Posted by: lisetta | January 16, 2010

Pasta Practice

I suppose that normal people wake up Saturday morning with some errands on their mind, or some activities to negotiate with their partner, or with children running around needing to be fed and entertained.  I roll out of bed onto my yoga mat, wondering how I’ll fill the day once I’m limber. Today I was dreaming of pasta, anxious to practice what I had learned in Italy last week.

In Puglia, I got a pasta-making lesson from Carlo’s grandmother “nonna”; in Piemonte, from Simona’s mother-in-law Elena, who’s originally from Puglia. Both made the impasto (dough) on a large wooden board, using methods much unlike the one I demonstrated for Martin. They start off with a big pile of durum flour, add some salt, and then water, incorporating everything together. It’s SO much faster and easier than the way I’ve been making it for years. I’m not sure I’ll go back to the old way, which I first learned from Giuseppe back in ’92.

I started this morning with the orecchiette; after about a half hour of failed attempts (my dough was too soft), I moved on to sagne torte. Did just enough of them to give to my neighbor Ann, then moved on to what’s simplest: pappardelle! Will take them to a dinner party tomorrow night.

From top to bottom: sagne torte, orecchiette, pappardelle.

These shapes were a success!

Can’t wait to try again. Believe it or not, I think making pasta is more fun than eating it! I *will* master orecchiette soon. Mark my words.

Responses

  1. All your pasta looks wonderful. Good luck with the orecchiette. I can’t wait to read about your success making them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

