Posted by: lisetta | January 28, 2010

Another farrotto

I know it may be getting boring to some of you to read about my weekly farro creations, but how can I keep quiet as I fall deeper in love with this hearty grain?

Farro with leeks and butter beans

Saute the white and pale greens of leeks in olive oil.

Add chopped carrots and a bit of shredded Savoy cabbage.

Add chopped fresh rosemary.

Add farro (a handful per serving) and stir to coat.

Cover with vegetable broth and cook until absorbed.

Add cooked butter beans, and broth as needed until the grain is cooked.

I’ve learned two things about farro: it plays well with all sorts of vegetables and it’s the perfect lunch on workout days. What’s not to love?

Speaking of workouts, I began the day with my first Pilates class. Ouch. Synching my movements with the instructor’s words was indeed challenging. They say that Pilates training plays well with all sorts of workouts. We’ll see. I’d like to be able to do the teaser:

Leave a Reply

Categories

