Posted by: lisetta | March 10, 2010

Chocolate saffron gelato

Day one staycation pleasures today included morning yoga, a trip to Center City for fabulous lunch with friends, and creative musings in my own kitchen for a dinner party with more friends. A celebration of friendship and food: wish more days could be spent like this!

A few months ago, my friends Eric and Rich gave me a sac of saffron that they had bought in Morocco over the holidays. I jumped for joy, sniffed it for the high, put it in the cupboard and thought about it only after I was eating something it may have tasted good with. No more. Today I invented a new favorite: chocolate saffron gelato. It will seduce my future husband….at least in my mind. LOL.

Chocolate saffron gelato – gelato al zafferano e cioccolato

Beat two egg yolks and 1/4 cup of sugar until they’re pale and fluffy.

Melt 7-10 ounces of sweetened dark chocolate in a saucepan.

Slowly add 2 cups of light cream to the chocolate, whisking constantly.

Add a generous pinch of saffron threads. Powdered saffron would also work.

Slowly whisk in the egg yolks and cook until the custard thickens yet doesn’t boil.

Pour the mixture into a bowl, let cool, cover with saran wrap and put in the fridge to cool.

Spin it in the ice cream maker and wow your friends.

What I really like about this combination is that it is rich with flavors but not too sweet. I was worried that the saffron would be too subtle for the dark chocolate, but this wasn’t at all the case. Both flavors blended well. We ate them with mediocre madeleines I picked up from Center City. A sophisticated ending to a simple meal tonight. What will day two of my staycation have in store?

Responses

  1. LOVE saffron and would have never thought of putting it with chocolate! Sounds great and so does the staycation – possibly the only way to get a restful break from work.

  2. Thanks, Vickie. I hadn’t thought of it before either, but encountered a chocolate cake with bananas in a saffron creme at Amada, a Jose Garces restaurant here in Philadelphia, and liked the flavor combination. The trick, I think, is to not sweeten very much. This was really a great combo!

  3. Did you try your gelato with bananas? That could be amazing.

  4. I didn’t, but think you are right! Maybe next time?


Leave a Reply

Categories

