Posted by: lisetta | August 30, 2010

Zucchini lasagna

No noodles. Sliced zucchini replaces them. The idea is neither original nor radical, but this is the first time I’ve tried it.

What to add in between the layers? How about caramelized onion and fennel, homemade tomato sauce, fresh ricotta blended with chopped mint and basil, and a wee bit of mozzarella and romano. Vegetables were all sliced with the mandoline and pre-cooked in a saute pan (to ensure that baking didn’t produce too much liquid).

Zucchni lasagna in its full form

Zucchini lasagna serving

It was absolutely amazing (don’t let the bad lighting fool you), and I know for sure that I will never be able to recreate it. My organic zucchini plants have been ravaged by insects; my tomato plants no longer have blossoms. Summer is ending (and it’s about time!).

Blaine and I were talking tonight about what we might be able to cook together when we go to meet his family in West Virginia this weekend. Could this be something Americans like? or should we play it safe and do an American style lasagna instead? Maybe I’ll simply make some chocolate chip cookies. Who says I have to remain in Italian domains?

Responses

  1. Too bad you can’t reproduce this dish – it sounds deliciously different – I would never have thought of adding mint to the ricotta. This dish would knock my socks off, if someone brought it to my house.

  2. […] of more innovative vegetarian choices … how about penne with zucchine and saffron, or a zucchini lasagna, or gnochhetti alla pastorella with asparagus or red pepper replacing the ham? Just […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

