Posted by: lisetta | September 8, 2010

I will eat you:

Apple dumplings

Apple dumplings made by a West Virginian grandmother

Krystal was curious that I had neither seen nor tasted an apple dumpling, so she asked her grandmother to make us some. Halved and wrapped in pastry, caramelized with brown sugar and butter. What’s not to love about these? We ate them with chocolate chip ice cream.

Will I ever actually make them myself? Seems disingenuous, somehow. I’ve always baked my apples with red wine, or some crushed nuts, or Amaretti di Saronno and Frangelico. As we slip into apple season, the best way to eat them is in your hand, imho. Hello, fall!

Leave a Reply

Categories

