Posted by: lisetta | November 8, 2010

Lacinato

So I’ve started reading New York Magazine, figuring it might teach me a thing or two about the food scene in the big city. Came across a great article about vegetables being the new meat, and clicked around into another which showcased the vegetables du jour – popular ‘new’ vegetables in the city’s restaurants. Had never even heard of this one before:

Lacinato
All the rage among sophisticated Italophile vegivores for some time now, this dark blue-green kale (a.k.a. black kale, Tuscan kale, dinosaur kale) has become ubiquitous at Greenmarket stands and restaurants. Its crinkly, bubble-wrap texture and earthy, minerally flavor only improve after the first frost.

There is always something new to discover in New York City. I’m sure I’ve never seen lacinato in the Philadelphia markets … while browsing the Thursday morning farmer’s market on Broadway and 115th, though, I found a bunch, for $3. Brought it back and sauteed it in a bit of olive oil.

lacinato

I added some sweet onion, arugula and chick peas to the pan, and ate it over a bowl of black venere rice (which I’ll describe in a future post). Very delicious!

I’m hardly convinced that eating kale qualifies as particularly sophisticated, but at least I get a blog entry out if it.  Maybe I should grow some in my garden next year?

Here are some pictures of the farmer’s market, which is literally a block away from my new office:

Responses

  1. I’m going to look for this in California – I’ve never heard of it, but you can bet I’ll be trying it. 🙂 And I love the shots of the wonderful farmer’s market (one of my favorite things on earth). Thanks for sharing the New York experience – I really like this post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

