Posted by: lisetta | November 28, 2010

Garden greens

There’s always a first: I harvested beet greens, swiss chard, and herbs from my rooftop garden this afternoon. Unbelievable!

I cooked the swiss chard in a bit of olive oil, salt and water:

I’m not really sure what to do with the beet greens, but figure my friend Google will give me some ideas tomorrow. I was hoping to get some beets, but they weren’t actually formed! Check out how they looked in – and out – of the ground:

Leafy beet greens in the garden

Malformed beets out of the ground

I’ve never seen beets like that, but have no complaints! Who’d have thought there would be any greens at all to harvest after the first snow of the season? The thrill of exploring the markets of the Upper West Side pales in comparison to the satisfaction of growing my own food. 🙂

Responses

  1. Amen, I love growing my own food! And I adore braised beet greens. I start with a little pan-fried bacon, onion and garlic, add the greens and a small amount of water. cook them until they’re tender and finish with a splash of vinegar and seasoning. Let me know how you fix them and what you think of them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

