Posted by: lisetta | January 1, 2011

Dinner Party 1, 2011

What’s my New Year’s resolution? To host more dinner parties. Blaine and I hosted our first ever tonight, with Eric and Rich. Our menu was simple vegetarian, gluten-free. πŸ™‚

Dinner Party Menu

Appetizer: a small bowls of roasted and raw marcona almonds, picholine olives and Castelveltrano olives (Read: an afterthought from what was on hand.)

Risotto: with leeks, thyme, butternut squash, butter beans and goat cheese

Salad: endives, celery, parsley, clementine and black olive

Dessert: chocolate saffron gelato, one of my all-time favorites.

endive salad

Endive salad

The endive salad is a variation on a recipe from the Epicurious iPhone app, which Eric recommended I get some time ago. Until now, I’d only used it as entertainment on the train, reading through recipes I thought I’d never make. When my plan to make a clementine-fennel salad was thwarted by the absence of fennel at Wegman’s, this seemed like the next best thing. πŸ™‚ In my vinaigrette, I used honey instead of sugar, left out the pickles that appeared in the original recipe, and failed to skin the sections of clementines. No matter. It’s really a delicious salad, well worth inclusion the next time we need something quick and easy.

Happy new year!

 

Responses

  1. Wow, wow, wow, Lisetta! I have to come up with the vegetarian, gluten fee recipes fairly often, so this is a great find! Thanks for sharing, if it has your stamp of approval, I’m convinced. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

