Posted by: lisetta | March 2, 2009

Torta di ricotta

To celebrate a certain someone’s dissertation defense tomorrow, I’ve made an old favorite: torta di ricotta (ricotta cake). A lightly sweet cheesecake with a touch of lemon zest, this is best served at room temperature with some fresh fruit. I’m not sure where this recipe originates; it does not include a pastry crust. 

ricottaTorta di ricotta

2 lbs. ricotta

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour

4-6 eggs

1/4 cup sugar

zest of one lemon

Beat the egg whites with 1/4 cup of sugar until stiff. 

In a food processor, combine ricotta, 1/2 cup sugar and flour. Process until smooth and transfer to a large bowl. 

Beat the egg yolks until just combined and add them with the lemon zest to the ricotta mixture. 

Fold in the egg whites. Spoon batter into a buttered springform pan and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.


Responses

  1. I wish I could find a lot of Italian recipes that didn’t need dairy 😦

  2. The torta and a lot of other things you’ve featured in the last two weeks look delicious. I’ve missed a lot since I’ve been gone, but plan to make some of the recipes, including the mushroom tart. I love semolina gnocchi and they’re always a hit. I hope to get to the flower show this week too.

  3. How about almond macaroons?https://lisetta.wordpress.com/2007/12/22/almond-macaroons/
    Is butter out for you as well?

  4. Ben tornata, Linda! Can’t wait to see what’s coming from your trip…


Leave a comment

Categories